Quinoa is gluten-free, high in fiber and a complete protein, meaning it has all nine amino acids. Quinoa also contains high amounts of lysine, manganese, magnesium, iron, copper and phosphorus. Due to quinoa being a complete protein, it is an excellent food choice for the gluten-free vegan.
Gluten (from Latin gluten – “glue”) is a protein composite found in foods processed from wheat and related grain species, including barley and rye. It gives elasticity to dough, helping it to rise and to keep its shape, and often giving the final product a chewy texture.
These days many people are realizing that they are gluten sensitive, some people to the point of having Celiac Disease. Gluten sensitivity is a term that is applied interchangeably with intolerance.
People that are sensitive/intolerant to gluten can get a variety of symptoms when they eat gluten and feel better on a gluten-free diet but do not have celiac disease.
Common symptoms of gluten sensitivity include abdominal pain similar to irritable bowel syndrome, fatigue, headaches and paresthesia (tingling of the extremities).
If you haven’t already, give Quinoa a try as a protein-packed substitute or addition to rice in your diet.